Movie Quote of the Week – 6/12/15

Answer to MWL 6/10/15: Walter Sobchak (John Goodman) – The Big Lebowski

Walter: Over the line!
Smokey: Huh?
Walter: I’m sorry Smokey, you were over the line. That’s a foul.
Smokey: Bullshit. Mark it eight, Dude.
Walter: Uh, excuse me. Mark it zero. Next frame.
Smokey: Bullshit, Walter. Mark it eight, Dude.
Walter: Smokey, this is not ‘Nam, this is bowling. There are rules.
The Dude: Hey Walter, come on. It’s just a game, man. It’s Smokey. So his toe slipped over the line a little. You know, it’s just a game, man.
Walter: This is a league game. This determines who enters the next round robin. Am I wrong?
Smokey: Yea, but I wasn’t…
Walter: Am I wrong?
Smokey: Yea, but I wasn’t over. Give me the marker, Dude. I’m marking an eight.
Walter: Smokey, my friend, [Pulls out gun] you’re entering a world of pain.
The Dude: Whoa, Walter, man.
Walter: You mark that frame an eight, you are entering a world of pain.
Smokey: I’m not…
Walter: A world of pain.
Smokey: Look, Dude, I… This is your partner.
Walter: Has the whole world gone crazy?! Am I the only one around here who gives a shit about the rules?! Mark it zero!
The Dude: Walter, they’re calling the cops, man. Put the piece away.
Walter: Mark it zero!
The Dude: Walter, put the piece away.
Smokey: Walter?
Walter: You think I’m fucking around here?! [Cocks gun] Mark it zero!
Smokey; Alright, it’s fucking zero. You happy, you crazy fuck?
Walter: [Unloads gun] It’s a league game, Smokey.

Thanks for everyone’s submissions and congratulations to the following people for answering correctly:

Kim (Tranquil Dreams)
Marta (Ramblings of a Cinefile)
Jay (Assholes Watching Movies)
Emma (Emmakwall (Explains it all))

So I made a little goof when I wrote this week’s MWL post (sorry Kim) and gave away the answer in the quote. So here is another great quote from The Big Lebowski and what the MWL was originally going to be this week:

Let me explain something to you. Um, I am not “Mr. Lebowski”. You’re Mr. Lebowski. I’m the Dude. So that’s what you call me. You know, that or, uh, His Dudeness, or uh, Duder, or El Duderino if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. -The Dude

4 thoughts on “Movie Quote of the Week – 6/12/15

  1. Oh no! Must find a place to hang my head in disgrace. I thought I should’ve known that one; I literally just referenced this movie in a comment moments ago. The shame!

    *stares at feet whimpering in disappointment*

    Like

    • Keep your chin up, Tim. I’m sure you’ll get the next one. But seriously, you should have gotten it. How did you not? *Stares at you with disgust and disappointment*

      Like

Leave a Reply

