Drew’s Movie Reviews 2016 in Review

Hey there, readers! I hope many of you had a good holiday season as it and 2016 comes to a close. 2016 was quite a year, wasn’t it? We saw the passing of many icons in both film and music.  Hopefully we can put the year behind us and have a better, less painful 2017.

Normally, WordPress has an annual report for my blog but it didn’t seem to have that this year. As a result, I can only go over the stats I can find out using my insights page and admin portal.  Here are some of the numbers I can figure out:

I am disappointed the insights page doesn’t show comments by year. I can see overall comment count and total number of comments by a certain person but not comments for a specific year. If I really wanted to do some hard digging I’m sure I could determine the number of comments a person wrote in 2016… but that is a lot of work. If someone knows of an easy way to see this information and would like to share, I would love you forever.

The Ultimate 80s Blogathon really dominated my views this year, claiming three of the top five spots. That doesn’t come as a surprise to me considering the amount of participation for it.  To say it was a overwhelming success would be an understatement, and I think my co-host would agree with me ;-).  Considering how bad I am at not replying to award nominations, I didn’t expect to see one of the few I actually did participate in make it into my top viewed posts. For views, I had to specify 2016 posts because My Fave Five Redheaded Actresses was my number one viewed post by a HUGE margin (excluding my homepage), and that was written in 2015. Seeing how popular that has been, I will see about doing some similar lists in 2017.

On the flip side, filling three fifths of my most commented posts are several of my posts with special guests.  My conversation with Emma about movie scores takes the top honor, followed by a ranking of Disney Renaissance films with Allie and Jenna, with a fave five list of feel good films with Natasha rounding out the list.  The Disney Renaissance film rankings article was particularly fun because I got to work with the seemingly elusive Jenna. Allie can be found flying solo on her new blog, Often Off Topic.  I am surprised that of all the Ultimate 80s Blogathon articles, my Top Gun review is the most commented.  There were so many great reviews submitted that it’s an honor to have been the most talked about of them all.

One of the biggest surprises to come from compiling my 2016 stats is Germany being in the top five countries where views came from.  The United States in not a surprise, neither is United Kingdom or Canada, since they were all at the top of my list last year. I’m pretty sure Israel is towards the top because of my pal Rob. But Germany? I don’t know who is over there reading but thank you!

A change I made going into 2016 was my rating scale. It began with my first review of the year, The Force Awakens, and has continued through my last review of the year, coincidentally another Star Wars film, Rogue One. I touched on it in my Anniversary Week 3 Conclusion, but the reason I changed my scoring method was for two reasons: 1) it is less constricting than the numbered scale I was previously using which felt very rigid, and 2) the new method is more reminiscent of how I would talk about it in person. I don’t say “Oh, I thought it was a four out of five.” I would say something more like “It was OK” or “I thought it was great!” So that’s where that came from.  Those of you who have been followers since before the change have been behind the change (or at least not overly against it), so thank you everyone for not making me second-guess myself. I haven’t updated my previous reviews yet because I know it is going to be a daunting task so I keep pushing it off. Maybe 2017 will be when I finally buck up and go for it.

I chose WordPress as my platform for this blog because of the community it presented.  Going into 2016, I wanted to take advantage of that. I wanted to work with other movie bloggers on a more personal level.  Throughout 2016, I invited other bloggers as special guests on my site to write together about a common cinematic interest we had.  Personally, it was a lot of fun.  I hope that my guests had as much fun as I did.  I had the goal to have special guests every month but life and my procrastination got in the way.  But hey, eight out of twelve months isn’t bad.

February and March was a particularly good highlight of this goal of mine. I worked with Kim from Tranquil Dreams to create the Ultimate 80s Blogathon.  There were so many participants that we were blown away.  If you want to read any of those entries, the full list can be found here. I know I’ve said it a thousand times but thank you Kim for agreeing to host that with me. I couldn’t have done it without you. 🙂 Kim and I have talked about doing another blogathon in 2017. We’ll keep you up to date on our plans.

These collaboration posts seemed to be among the more popular ones on my blog this year, with only one post not in the blogathon or a collaboration inching its way into my top views. Maybe that’s a clue about what you people like… The goal of working with more bloggers was simply for 2016 but I think it will be something I will continue into 2017.

In December, I had an extra-special guest: my little sister! She wrote her own review of Moana that has been more popular than mine. I highly recommend you check out her review, which is linked below. I told her she could write a movie review any time so hopefully you will see her around here again. In case you missed any of my guests this year, they were

Ashley – My Fave Five Star Wars Characters (Featuring Box Office Buzz)

Emma – Movie Score Discussion (Featuring Emmakwall (explains it all))

Allie and Jenna – Ranking the Disney Renaissance Films (Featuring Flick Chicks)

Rob – Marvel Cinematic Universe Discussion (Featuring MovieRob)

Natasha – My Fave Five Feel Good Films (Featuring Life of this City Girl)

Kira – Tarantino Movie Discussion (Featuring Film and TV 101)

Various bloggers – Happy Thanksgiving! Celebrating with Special Guests

Samantha (my sister) – Drew’s Samantha’s Movie Reviews: Moana

I’m not going to do a best of 2016 like most people. Instead, here are the movies I saw at the cinema that I thought were GREAT 😀 :

Deadpool

Zootopia

The Jungle Book

Keanu

Captain America: Civil War

Don’t Breathe

Doctor Strange

Arrival

Moana

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Overall, I would consider 2016 a successful year for me over here at DMR. I know there are some things I wanted to include in this post that have probably slipped my mind but I was rushing to get it finished.  I would like to give another special thanks to Kim and all of my guests who collaborated on a post with me. But more importantly, thank you, all of you, for the support throughout the year! All of the views, likes, and comments help my day extra special. 🙂

Have a happy new year!

year-in-review-banner

Until next time, cheers!

21 thoughts on “Drew’s Movie Reviews 2016 in Review

  1. happy new year drew!

    love all ur stuff and it was lots of fun collaborating.

    im always open to new ideas if u want to try something else together.

    keep up the great work!

    Glad to see I made it to ur top 5 countries 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post, Drew! I know what you mean about simplifying your ranking system. I had a complex number system at first, but it’s a lot easier using simple tiers, so it’s a good change. It’s cool too that you got so much positive interaction with fellow bloggers and guests this year, and I hope 2017 is no different. I’ll be happy to take part in any blogathons or the like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

